About the Data

The data available in Facts Matter are topline measures that help us understand how we are doing as a community. While there is no way to track every measure for an area, we strive to provide the community with key indicators that help paint a picture of where we stand.

Each indicator contains a brief description of what is being tracked and the source information.  Our primary focus is on the Cincinnati MSA, the 15 counties within our region, and the City of Cincinnati. Where possible, we also strive to include data disaggregated by gender, race, ethnicity, and age.

Still have questions?
  • Additional details about the data and Facts Matter can be found in the FAQs.
  • If you have specific questions that haven’t been answered, you can contact us here.
 Looking for more data?
  • Visit our Other Resources page for links to other data sources for our community.
 Looking for assistance with Geocoding?
  • We may use geocode information provided by Texas A&M University GeoServices in some of our infographics. Visit the Texas A&M site for more information about their free / low cost geocoding resource.

About the MSA

The Cincinnati MSA refers to the 15 county, federally defined area surrounding the Cincinnati Urban area. The central idea of the MSA is that it encompasses a large population core and all adjacent communities that have a high degree of integration with that population center. An important aspect of an MSA is that counties are the building block used to construct them. A county is either entirely inside or entirely outside of an MSA, and a county cannot be split between two MSAs.

The following counties are included in the Cincinnati MSA:

  • Brown County, OH
  • Butler County, OH
  • Clermont County, OH
  • Hamilton County, OH
  • Warren County, OH
  • Boone County, KY
  • Bracken County, KY
  • Campbell County, KY
  • Gallatin County, KY
  • Grant County, KY
  • Kenton County, KY
  • Pendleton County, KY
  • Dearborn County, IN
  • Ohio County, IN
  • Union County, IN

The Cincinnati MSA changed in 2013 (see map below). As a result, some older data contained on the site are based on the previous definition of the MSA, while more contemporary data are based on the new definition.